Skip to main content
CallTower Solutions Center

Skype For Business: How To Block Telephone Numbers On Desktop Client


All Troubleshooting steps / How To: 

o    Notes: Follow these step by step instructions to prevent calls from ringing through to your Skype client or phone:


o    1. Open Microsoft Outlook and navigate to the “Contacts” section. (Note: the image below may differ depending on what version of Microsoft Outlook you are using)
Example: 


o    2. Select the option to create a “New Contact”
Example:


o    3. A new window will appear to enter in the new contact information. In order for the contact to appear properly in Skype and therefore block the desired number, you will need to fill out all of the fields highlighted in the image below. (Note: The name and IM address to not need to be real names or addresses; they simply need to be filled in).
Example: 


o    4. Select the option to “Save & Close”
o    5. Open the Skype for Business application on your PC
o    6. In the search field towards the top; search for the name, phone number, or IM address of your recently created contact.
Example:


o    7. Right click on the contact after it appears in the “Results” field below and a drop down menu will appear. Select the option for “Change Privacy Relationship”. This will populate another menu of options. From this menu you will select the option “Blocked Contacts”.
Example: 


o    8. By selecting this option, whenever this contact (phone number) attempts to contact you they will be sent directly to your voicemail).
If you don't want them to be able to leave a VM then follow KB Article: 000001675 - Skype For Business: How To Block Telephone Numbers From Leaving VMs(Voice Mails) On Desktop Client

o     Once these steps have been completed callers will not be able to dial through to the user, but will be able to just leave a voicemail. An additional indication that a call from a blocked caller has occurred will be from a “missed call” notification. Users can set up a rule in Outlook to move these messages to the “Deleted Items” folder if they wish. (Note: you will want to specify messages including the blocked phone number so that not all notifications are affected) 
 

  • Was this article helpful?